American Field

Updated Standings

Purina Dog of the Year Award

Feb 23, 2021

An update of the points standings for the 2020-2021 Purina Top Dog Award is due after several points stakes have been held and the winners verified.

Only 67 points separate the top two points-earners. Miller's Speed Dial and Coldwater Thunder. Lester's Shockwave (No. 3), with a good win or two, could overtake the top two contenders.

Appended are the standings as of February 22 for which the winners of points stakes have been verified,

Dog/Owner(s)/ Handler/Points

Miller’s Speed Dial, Pointer male; Gary Lester/Gary Lester 1085

Coldwater Thunder, Pointer female; Billy K. & Rachel Blackwell, Doug Arthur & David Russell/Steve Hurdle 1018

Lester’s Shockwave, Pointer male; Tommy & Bonnie Hamilton/Gary Lester 995

Knight Moon, Pointer male; Tucker S. Johnson/Luke Eisenhart 860

Showtime Sam Houston, Pointer male; Larron Copeland/Larron Copeland 760

Touch’s Mega Mike, Pointer male; Eddy Sholar & Ted Dennard/Mark McLean 666

Double Deuce Zeke, Pointer male; Dr. Douglas E. McMillen, Jr. Dr./ Douglas E. McMillen, Jr. 660

Whippoorwill Justified, Pointer male; Ronnie Spears/Larry Huffman 590

Lowrider Frank, Pointer male; Dr. Jim Mills & Steve Lightle/Allen Vincent 530

Game Wardon, Pointer male; Dr. Fred Corder/Luke Eisenhart 509

S F Stetson, Pointer male; Larry L. Smith/Larry Huffman 480

Awsum’s Country Justice, Pointer male; Bill & Margie Ricci & Dr. Bill Bruchey/Luke Eisenhart 450

Westfall’s River Ice, Pointer male; Brad H. Calkins/Andy Daugherty 440

Touch’s Malcolm Story, Pointer male; Alex Rickert/Mark McLean 430

Marques Armed Robber, Pointer male; John & Sue Ivester/Lefty Henry 410

Touch’s Spaceman, Pointer male; Matt Griffith/Randy Anderson 400

Ascension, Pointer male; Ted Roach/Steve Hurdle 396

Dakota Nation, Pointer male; Ted & Julie Roach/Steve Hurdle 370

Justifier, Pointer male; Dr. Robert Rankin/Allen Vincent 360

Dunn’s Tried’n True, Pointer male; Will & Rita Dunn/Luke Eisenhart 355

True Confidence,  Pointer male; Frank & Jean LaNasa/Frank LaNasa 350

Westfall’s Red Man, Pointer male; Tom Faller/Andy Daugherty 350

Out of the Shadows, Setter female; Bob & Diane Wheelock/Bob Wheelock 330

Dominator’s Rogue Rebel, Pointer male; W. Jack Schwarz/Jamie Daniels 310

Dream Chaser, Pointer male; Brad H. Calkins/Andy Daugherty 310

Hendrix’s Touch Up, Pointer male; Burke Hendrix/Steve Hurdle 291

Dragonfly, Pointer male; Jim Hughes/Jim Hughes 270

Miller Unfinished Business, Pointer male; Benjy Griffith/Joel Norman 270

Westfall’s River Ice, Pointer male; Brad H. Calkins/Andy Daugherty 270

Strut Nation, Pointer male; Scott Jordan/Scott Jordan 265

Shadow’s Lord Magic, Pointer male; Carl Bowman/Tommy Davis 260

Erin’s Lone Star Law, Pointer male; Maeve Derrig/Sean Derrig 255

Nosam’s Sweet Water, Pointer male; Jeff Busby/Larry Huffman 251

Lester’s Jazz Man, Pointer male; Dan Hensley/Randy Anderson 240

Woodville, Yukon Cornelius, Setter male; Carl Owens/Mark McLean 240

Miller’s Blindsider, Pointer male; Nick Berrong/Jamie Daniels 220

Texas Wild Rex, Pointer male; Brad Kennedy/Allen Vincent 220

Wild Hawk, Pointer male; Mike Moses/Judd Carlton 215

Stash The Cash, Pointer male; David Thompson & Tommy Loid/Gary Lester 213

Miss Stylin Sue, Pointer female; Dr. Jim Mills & Steve Lightle/Allen Vincent 180

Whippoorwill Forever Wild; Pointer male; Phil Witter/Matt Cochran 175

Westfall’s True Grit, Pointer male; Ryan Westfall/Andy Daugherty 174

Tekoa Mountain Owhyee Jack, Setter male; Alex Mauck/Alex Mauck 160

Touch’s Gallatin Fire, Pointer male; Alex Rickert/Mark McLean 156

Valiant, Pointer male; Jay McKenzie/Randy Anderson 155

Confident Nation, Pointer male; Scott Jordan/Tommy Davis 132

Swift Justice, Setter male; Brad Kennedy/Steve Hurdle 132

Hendrix’s Copperline, Pointer male; Guy & Burke Hendrix/Steve Hurdle 130

Hirollins Moncho Man, Setter male; Warren Parrott/Tracy Swearingen 129

Lester’s Stem Winder, Pointer male; Gary Lester/Gary Lester 120

Coldwater Odyssey, Pointer male; Debbie & Andy Agnew/Weldon Bennett 115

Wind Ridge Sugar Plum, Pointer male; Eugene J. Spiotta, Jr./Eddy Taylor 111

Coldwater Spectre, Pointer male; Gary W. McKibben/Weldon Bennett 110

Ransom’s Jack Flash, Pointer male; Rachel & Billy K Blackwell & Doug Arthur/Steve Hurdle 108

Touch’s Blackout, Pointer male; John Harkins/Randy Anderson 108

S F Mapleleaf, Pointer female; Dr. Robert Rankin/Allen Vincent 105

Westfall’s Wheels Up, Pointer male; Bill Westfall/Andy Daugherty 105

Touch’s Fire Away, Pointer male; Greg & Carmen Adams/Randy Anderson 84

Burr Oak’s Born Again, Vizla male; Jim Gingrich; Brian Gingrich 80

Painted Owyhee Sagebrush, Pointer female; Bridget & Jim Ledington/Bridget Ledington 80

Cocklebur King Tut, Pointer male; Bubba, Amy & Colt Spencer/Bubba Spencer 72

Mac Golva B, Setter male; Dr. Marion Brown/Dr. Marion Brown 72

Love Train, Pointer female; Tom Griffin; Tom Griffin 40


[Purina Points are awarded based on the number of dogs entered x 10 for first, 5 for second, and 3 for third.]


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.