American Field

Association of Michigan Field Trial Clubs Awards

By David A. Fletcher | Aug 09, 2018
Front row, from left: Richard Hollister, handler, holds Dun Rovens Lucky, Cover Dog Puppy winner, owned by Chris Jaeger; Randi Hollister holds Dun Rovens Grumpy, Cover Dog Puppy Runner-Up, co-owned by Jack Harang; owner Jim Clary holds Clary’s Angel of Faith, Walking Puppy of the Year, co-owned with Bob Andre, handled by Richard Hollister, Sr.; Ron Sposita, holding plaque, winner of the 2018 Bill Rogers Memorial Award, with wife Maria. Back row: Carl McRae, owner-handler, holds McRae’s Natasha, Walking Dog of the Year; owner Dr. George Najor holds plaque for Zebstar, Cover Dog Runner-Up, handled by Robert Ecker; handler Bill Darr holds Rusty Nail, Horseback Runner-Up, owned by deceased Lloyd Wylie; person obscured holds plaque for owner-handler Ricki Hollister, holding Dun Roven’s Grumpy, Cover Dog Runner-Up, co-owned by Jack Harang; Ed Hart holds Ball of Fire Slipper, Cover Dog Derby Winner, owned by Brent and Sandi Haskin; Bruce Minard, handler of Ball of Fire Slipper. Dog of the Year Winners not present: Boston, Cover Dog Shooting Dog Winner, owned by Jim Kilrain, handled by Scott Forman; Meredith Grade Annie, Cover Dog Shooting Dog Runner-Up, owned by Dennis Keysor, handled by Tammy Chaffee; Colby Jack Wood, Walking Puppy Runner-Up, owned by John Bodo; Shagtime Scout, Horseback Shooting Dog Winner, and Shagtime Ole Red, Horseback Derby Runner-Up, both owned by Chris Cagle; Windfall Big Hurt, Horseback Derby Winner, owned by Joe Guzman.

The Association of Michigan Field Trial Clubs’ annual meeting, steak fry and Dog of the Year Awards presentations took place July 8 at the Ionia grounds clubhouse.

Representatives of most of the twelve association member clubs were present for the business meeting followed by award presentations for Dog of the Year in several categories, and a delicious steak fry with all the trimmings. The affair began at 11:00 a. m. with the business meeting, business items and election of officers and directors.

Ron Sposita was the “main chef” cooking the steaks, with wife Maria and helpers. The ladies present tended the tables with the “dishes to pass” delicacies that all attendees brought.

The Association for Dog of the Year and runner-up honors come in four categories: Horseback, Walking, and Cover Dog. Plaques were presented to  the winners in each of these groups.

The Bill Rogers Award went this year to Ron Sposita for his hard work and dedication to the Michigan Association trials.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.