American Field

Annual Meeting and Awards — 2020-2021

Association of South Carolina Field Trial Clubs

By Roger McPherson, Secy. | Jul 15, 2021
Photo by: Lauren Kerr Jadie Rayfield (right) presents Chris Catanzarite ASCFTC Handler of the Year Award.

Beaufort, S.C. — The Association of South Carolina Field Trial Clubs held its annual business meeting and Awards presentations the weekend of June 4-5 at picturesque Clarendon Farms in Beaufort, S.C.

Organizing the affair were Billy and Lauren Kerr, devotees of South Carolina field trials. The energetic couple along with Jadie Rayfield of Mount Pleasant. S.C., worked vigorously to host a first-rate event. Thank you for all your efforts. All attendees had a terrific time.

An event like this cannot be successful without the support of our many sponsors. The Association thanks Jim Kennedy and Alex Taylor for the use of Clarendon Farms. We also thank Jason Hewett, manager, and Jeff Dawson, assistant manager of Clarendon Farms for having the grounds and meeting location in tip-top shape. Gun Dog Coffee samples were provided to attendees to take home and enjoy. Southern Pines Land and Timber was the key sponsor of Friday evening's Low Country boil, social hour, and Saturday's barbecue.

The 2021 activities kicked off Friday evening with a social hour and Low Country boil prepared by Billy and Lauren Kerr with the help of Julie Kimbrell. It was a time to visit with old friends, and meet new people. Attendees from several states (Pennsylvania, Virginia, Georgia, Alabama, as well as North and South Carolina) came for the Awards and to have a good time

Many in attendance were entertained by North Carolinian A. Q. "Skip" Brown enlightening any and all with his numerous stories.

Saturday morning ASCFTC conducted its annual business meeting. The business meeting was followed by the ASCFTC’s presentation of this year’s Awards.

Open Shooting Dog of the Year handlers and owners were in attendance to receive a framed print, “Pairing Up,” by Mary McAuslin.

This year’s winner was pointer male Reedy Creek Dial Tone. Runner-up was Bo Bunda, owned by longtime field trial participant John Arlington, handled by young professional Mike Martino.

The 2021 ASCFTC Open Derby winner was Erin’s Tough Grit, owned and handled by Thomas Rice III. Runner-up was Swamp Fox Just Bruce, owned by South Carolinian Johnny Atkinson, handled by well-known North Carolina professional Mac Hilliard.

Jadie Rayfield then turned to the presentations of the Amateur Dogs of the Year. On hand to receive a Mary McAuslin framed print was owner and handler of the top amateur shooting dog, Hirollins Gone and Doneit, Warren Parrott. In attendance also was Chris Catanzarite to receive the ASCFTC plaque for the runner–up, Springflow’s Backcountry P, owned by Chris and Rick Beinhaurer, capably handled by Chris.

Receiving ASCFTC Amateur Derby honors was a pair of youngsters owned and handled by Warren Parrott. This year’s winner and Bradley trophy recipient was Hirollins B K Dontjuno and runner-up B  K Deighton’s Jewel. Both of these juvenile contenders show great promise.

The annual Handler of the Year is awarded to the amateur handler who amasses the most points in amateur events in South Carolina. The 2020-2021 Handler of the Year is Pennsylvanian Chris Catanzarite, recipient of a Mary McAuslin print.

The ASCFTC Sportsman of the Year is awarded to a member or patron of field trials recognizing his/her contribution. The 2021 awardee is your scribe.

The final award recognizes a person who has over a period of time been a major contributor to the success of South Carolina field trials and/or an effective competitor, one who excels. This year’s honoree, Warren Parrott of Scranton, S.C., exemplifies these ideals. Congratulations, Warren.

After the awards presentation, we were treated to a tasty a barbecue luncheon prepared and served by Billy and Lauren Kerr with Julie Kimbrell’s help.

It was good to meet new people as well as listen to the yarns of new and old friends. All had a very good time and look forward to next year.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.