American Field

Flashback . . .

Nov 08, 2018

Fall is pheasant stakes time and the clock is turned back to 1953, 65 years ago, to Baldwinsville, New York and the National Pheasant Championship. That year’s renewal drew a field of 38 pointers and 6 setters, judged by Dr. Earl Miles of Brooklyn, New York, and Paul J. Treadaway of Berkley, Michigan. They named only a winner — Rumson Farm Hayride.

The report states: “Several dogs acquitted themselves in satisfactory manner, but the glittering hour one looks for in this classic was rendered only by the victor.” Rumson Farm Hayride was owned by Raymond Hoagland of Cartersville, Georgia, bred and handled by Earl C. Crangle. The photo shows George Evans (left), on behalf of Mrs. Gerald M. Livingston, presenting the new Memorial Trophy to Earl Crangle. Pheasant Championship Secretary J. S. Applegate is in the center. Mrs. Livingston’s pointers — Shore’s Brownie Doone, Kilsyth Brownie’s Son and Kilsyth Rusty Doone — had won the title in 1948, 1950 and 1952, respectively, to retire the former trophy. Rumson Farm Hayride went on to win the Pheasant Championship a second and third time in 1957 and 1958.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.