American Field

Season's Dogs and Handlers Honored

Kansas Field Trial Clubs Association

Annual Meeting and Awards
By Janice E. Merritt | Jul 19, 2012
Horseback Stakes Awards Winners. From left: Don W. Beauchamp, Ivan Breckenridge, Don Kimble, Dr. Richard Steckley, Joe Worsham and Roger Duncan.

Emporia, Kan. — The Kansas Field Trial Clubs Association (KFTCA) held their annual meeting and awards banquet June 30 in Emporia, Kan.

Outgoing President Josh Palmer presided over the well attended meeting, thanking everyone for a successful year.

Those in attendance from Kansas included Chris Kroll, Fairview; Chuck Maxson and grandson Levi, Clearwater; Clayton Buche, Burlingame; Robert Lais, Dr. Richard and Desi Steckley and Frank Schoenborn, all from the Wichita area; Doug Meyer, Tonganoxie; Greg Morgan and Brandon Biddle, Leavenworth; Mike Jordan and Bob Randolph, Topeka; Jim Fry, Rossville; Dr. Gerald Graham and Roger Duncan, Augusta; Bud Moore, Toronto; Greg Gibson, Goddard; John Hortin, Manhattan; Greg Sand, Hill City; Dr. Stan Wint, Gardner; Dave and Janice Merritt, Oskaloosa; Ivan Breckenridge, Atlanta; Don Beauchamp, Cheney; Paul Roederer, Haven; L. G. Barnard, Olpe; Josh Palmer, Auburn.

From Nebraska, Dr. Pat McInteer, Falls City; Luke Topp, Tecumseh and Vagas Mathiesen, Rising City.

From Missouri, Joe Worsham, Easton.

We quickly got down to business. The financial report and previous minutes were read and approved.

At roll call 17 of the 20-member Board were present. It was motioned and approved that the Husker Bird Dog Club of Nebraska, represented by Vagas Mathiesen and Luke Topp, be accepted as new members. They will run their trials at Branched Oak near Lincoln, Neb., and on Dr. Pat McInteer’s ground near Falls City. The Midwest Brittany Field Trial Club was also accepted as sustaining members.

Josh Palmer gave a short website report. For anyone interested the site is The main webmaster is Dalen Meredith of Topeka, Kan. The new webmaster Chris Kroll is being trained for the volunteer position of website administrator.

The floor was then opened to new business. Roger Duncan discussed starting a KFTCA Open Shooting Dog Classic and Open All-Age Classic as a National Amateur qualifier and Purina points stake.

Dr. Pat McInteer, Region 17 trustee, gave a short talk on the recent AFTCA meeting. Doug Meyer, secretary-treasurer of Region 17, updated us on their recent meeting. Dave Merritt reported that Nutri Source would sponsor championships and clubs. Those who would like this support should contact Warren Stice.

Newly elected Association officers are: President L. G. Barnard, 1st Vice-President Frank Schoenborn, 2d Vice-President Mike Jordan and Secretary-Treasurer Janice Merritt.

Fall season trial dates can be seen in the Association announcement.


Dog of the Year and Kansas Hall of Fame Awards ceremonies followed a social hour and prime rib banquet. Outgoing President Josh Palmer welcomed a well attended audience, thanking everyone for their support of trials held in Kansas. He also thanked those who venture outside the state to run at different venues and for the Kansans who judged here and elsewhere in the United States. All this gets the word out that we live in a great state.

Josh Palmer presented the President’s Award to Rodger and Glenda Duncan and Frank Schoenborn for their outstanding work done for the Association’s Hall of Fame trial. This trial, held at the Westfall Ranch near Elk City, Kan., had an auction highlighted by the bidding on the summer training donated by Gordon Hazlewood. The winning bid went to Dr. Gerald Graham.

The Landowner Award went to the Wichita Bird Dog Club for the Moline, Kan., grounds owned by Mr. and Mrs. Bird.

John Hortin was presented the Most Enthusiastic Trialer Award. John is a relative newcomer who has great dogs and a winning personality.

Tyler Buche received the Youngest Trialer Award. He will be a junior in high school in Burlingame this fall. He plays sports and trials on the weekends.

Marvin McDowell was the recipient of the Outstanding Lifelong Trialer Career Award. He was unable to attend this event; Marvin is battling cancer. His name goes back 40 years in The American Field as a professional trainer. He ran in and won many championships all over the Midwest, most recently the Jayhawk Open Shooting Dog Championship with Fearless Little Bit. Marvin and three of the dogs he campaigned are in the Kansas Hall of Fame.

The Outstanding Support Award went to Dalen Meredith and Mike Jordan for their work on the KFTCA website and at gathering information to be put on the site. Josh Palmer was presented a plaque for his two-year tenure as association president.

The Dog of the Year program started with Don Beauchamp at the helm. Don, a well known trialer all over the Midwest, did a wonderful job of speaking about every recipient. We don’t know if the stories were factual or not, but just a lot of fun.

What can we say, there is always someone in every group who holds the camera and records the history. Jim Fry is ours. He is there for trials and was present for this banquet. When he gets home he goes to work emailing out photos. Many thanks to Jim.

Horseback Stakes Awards Winners

All-Age Derby—Winner: Worsham’s Silver Strike, Joe Worsham, owner; R-U: H P Wiggins Thoroughbred, Rodney Shoemaker, owner.

Shooting Dog—Winner: Quik Fairway Bob, Don Kimble, owner; R-U: Ninnescah Nightengale, Dr. Richard Steckley, owner.

Shooting Dog Derby—Winner: Prairie High Tanner, Roger and Glenda Duncan, owners; R-U: Worsham’s Silver Strike, Joe Worsham, owner.

Puppy—Winner: Waubeek Momma’s Boy, Ivan Breckenridge, owner; R-U: H P Wiggins Wild, Rodney Shoemaker, owner.



Dave Merritt presented the Walking Stakes Awards. Dave is a longtime trialer starting in the late 1970s in the horseback stakes and finally with the walking. He has watched many Kansas handlers and dogs climb to the top of the game so had a few things to say about them all.

Walking Stakes Awards Winners

Shooting Dog—Winner: Bittercreek Top Grade, Frank Schoenborn, owner; R-U Royalty’s Centerfold, Clayton Buche, owner.

Derby—Winner: Bitterark’s River Rose, Frank Schoenborn, owner; R-U: Miller’s Knot Happy, Chris Kroll, owner.

Puppy—Winner: Foggy Bottom George, Joe Zimmer, owner; R-U: Wild Covey Chaos, Brandon Biddle, owner.

Gun Dog Winner: Hortin’s Sir Handsome Jack, John Hortin, owner; R-U: Hortin’s Little Doc Susie, John Hortin, owner.

The English Setter Award, initiated many years ago by Chuck Maxson, was awarded by Chuck to Don Kimble’s Quik Fairway Bob for the horseback stakes. Joe Zimmer, Chamois, Mo., was the recipient of the walking award with a tie going to his dogs Foggy Bottom George and Foggy Bottom Fritz.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.