American Field

Field Trial Report

Mississippi Open Shooting Dog Championship

By Elton Bray | Mar 12, 2020
Mississippi Championship Winners. From left: Shawn Kinkelaar, Judge Jonathan Burch, Steve Hurdle with Chelsea’s Thunder Bolt, Guy Hendrix, Eddy Taylor, Joel Norman with Miller’s Bushwacker and Daniel Bolden.

Laws Hill, Miss. — The Mississippi Open Shooting Dog Championship was held January 8-9 at Hendrix Farms near Laws Hill, Miss. Birds were plentiful, and the grounds were in great shape.

A big thank you is owed to Guy and Burke Hendrix for hosting this year’s competition.

The club would also like to thank Albert Lay for the use of his property.

Appreciation is also extended to Sportsman’s Pride which generously sponsored the trial.

The trial drew an entry of 23 pointers and 3 setters.

Judging the 2020 renewal were Jonathan Burch of Holly Springs, Miss., and Burke Hendrix of Hernando, Miss.

The Winners

Taking home top honors for the second year in a row was Ch. Chelsea’s Thunder Bolt, coming eight-year-old white and liver pointer male owned by Dr. Tom Jackson of Columbus, Ind., and George Hickox of Thomasville, Ga. Bolt is handled by Shawn Kinkelaar.

This was Bolt’s 18th championship win. He also has three runner-up championship placements. He was very staunch around his game and was very smooth at handling the one-hour course.

Kinkelaar credits much of Bolt’s stamina to his early development by Steve Hurdle and Brad Sadler, and thanks them for assisting with the purchase of this champion.

Named runner-up was Miller’s Bushwacker, white and orange pointer male owned by Benjy Griffith of Leesburg, Ga., and handled by Joel Norman.

Bushwacker was very classy around his game, and completed the hour gracefully.

Laws Hill, Miss., January 8

Judges: Jonathan Burch and Burke Hendrix

MISSISSIPPI OPEN SHOOTING DOG CHAMPIONSHIP [One-Hour Heats] — 23 Pointers and 3 Setters

Winner—CHELSEA’S THUNDER BOLT, 1649213, pointer male, by Whippoorwill Wild Agin—Butler’s Jill. Dr. Tom Jackson & George Hickox, owners; Shawn Kinkelaar, handler.

Runner-Up—MILLER’S BUSHWACKER, 1661402 pointer male, by Just Irresistible—Miller’s Bring The Heat. Benjy Griffith, owner; Joel Norman, handler.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.