American Field

National Bird Hunters Association Annual Meeting

By Tim Penn, Secretary | Jul 29, 2020

EDINA, MO. — The 2020 NBHA annual Board of Directors meeting was a virtual meeting held on Saturday, July 25, starting at 8:00 a.m.

Last year's meeting minutes were reviewed and approved. Officers then gave their yearly reports.

Election of officers and current officers  for the coming year are:

Elected President — Ken Sauer, Alvord, Tex.


Elected 1st VP — Greg Blair, Menomonee Falls, Wis.

Current 2d VP — Jacob Starnes, Derby, Kan.

Current 3d VP — Shane Bevel, Tulsa, Okla.

Re-elected Secretary —Tim Penn, Edina, Mo.

Re-elected Treasurer — Ray Brown, Dothan, Ala.

Elected Futurity Director — Jim Ogle, Jasper, Mo.

Championships for the following season were scheduled as follows, and listed date order:

Western Regional Championship; November 6-8, Atlanta, Kan.

National Amateur Championship; November 13-17, Miller Welch Area, Berea, Ky.

National Amateur Invitational Championship; December 3-6. Sportsman’s Association Club, Grovespring, Mo.

National Open Inv/Breeders Championship and NBHA Futurity; February 10-14. Sportsman’s Association, Grovespring, Mo.

National Open Championship; March 3-7. Dancyville, Tenn.

Central Regional Championship, March, 12-15, Booneville, Ark.

National Open Free-For-All Championship, March, 18-21, Inola, Okla.

Midwest Regional Championship, March, 26-28, Mt.Vernon, Mo.

Northern Regional Championship, April 1- 4, Baraboo, Wis.

Southern Regional Championship, Date pending, AG Preserve, Ga.

Eastern Regional Championship, to be announced, Ala.

Under new business, the NBHA approved to extend the Brick purchasing program to coincide with the Bird Dog Foundation program. At that time the NBHA will draw for a winner to receive the Purina Pro Plan. Purchase of a brick allows for a chance in the drawing.

NBHA will recognize the newly elected Hall of Fame inductees at next year's annual meeting.

NBHA Hall of Fame inductee Dog is Hobbs Silver Belle,  pointer female, owned by Keith and Jan Foreman of Sulphur, Okla.

Two Persons  inducted into the NBHA Hall of Fame are Glenn Cumbie of Fort Smith, Ark., and the late Larry Carpenter of Clarksburg, Mo.

Next Year's meeting  is schedule for July 24, 2021. Details to follow


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.