American Field

2019 Annual Meeting and Awards

National Bird Hunters Association

By Tim Penn | Sep 03, 2019
NBHA Hall of Fame. From left: Julie Wint, NBHA Hall of Fame inductee Dr. Stan Wint, Scott Miller, Jammie Litle Miller and NBHA President Bruce Mercer.

The National Bird Hunters Association held its annual business meeting the weekend of July 26 at the Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Franklin Cool Springs, Tenn.

On Friday evening, July 26, the welcome/social gathering kicked off the weekend with a nice gathering of NBHA enthusiasts enjoying cocktails and stories.

NBHA is very fortunate to have great sponsors who support the NBHA in our mission to be the leader in walking field trials. Purina Pro Plan, Garmin, Gun Dog Supply, Mule Brand Clothing and Gun Dog Central provide their generous support to the NBHA throughout the year.

Saturday morning at 8:00 a. m. the NBHA business meeting was called to order by President Greg Blair, following a roll call of Executive Officers and State Directors.

Minutes from the previous year’s meeting were discussed and approved.

Current slate of officers had their year-end reports read and financial reports were presented to the board and all were approved.

Election of officers followed with three positions to be filled by new officers.

President elect is Bruce Mercer of Jonesboro, Ga.; 1st vice-president elect, Ken Black of Washington, Ill.; 2nd vice-president elect, Jacob Starnes of Derby, Kan. Re-elected as 3rd vice-president, Shane Bevel of Tulsa, Okla.

Current officers are Secretary Tim Penn of Edina, Mo., and Treasurer Ray Brown of Dothan, Ala. Futurity co-directors are Brian Casey of Belknap, Ill., and Bruce Mercer.

Following the election of officers, dates were set for this next trial season for all the major NBHA events, national and regional championships. Discussion was then heard on rules and regulations with all the changes being updated on the NBHA website. A new map of the country now shows the regional structure and continuing growth of the NBHA organization.

Saturday evening’s banquet started with the introduction of a memorial plaque that will be placed in the NBHA Hall of Fame section of the National Bird Dog Museum in honor of Jim Duncan, our lost friend and supporter of the NBHA.

Following dinner, excitement grew with the many sponsor products and donated items that were available for purchase by the silent auction or tickets in the bucket drawings.

Thank you to our live auction items as Scott Miller purchased the English Cocker male pup that was donated by John Rex and Diane Gates. High Tailin’ It Setters, owner Jim Jorgensen, purchased the setter stud service, Woodsville’s Yukon Cornelius owned by Carl Owens. Dr. Stan Wint purchased the pointer stud service, Dogwood Bill donated by Jamie Daniels.

New to the banquet this year were the NBHA T-shirts and embroidered caps. They were a big hit and will continue to be available for purchase throughout the rest of the year through Mule Brand Clothes.

National Bird Hunters Association Hall of Fame inductee for 2019 was Dr. Stan Wint of Gardner, Kan. Stan served as a national officer, owned and campaigned his dogs throughout the NBHA, judged and chaired numerous trials and has been a valued promoter of the NBHA. Congratulations to Dr. Stan Wint for achieving this honor.

Awards for the Dog of the Year and Handler of the Year were given out to the winner and runner-up in each category. We congratulate all of the award winners this year and a thank you to each and every person who entered an NBHA trial.

Top Open Shooting Dog winner was Indian Creek Bocephus, pointer male owned by Ed Marron of Ho Ho Kus, N. J. Ed was presented with his Open Shooting Dog of the Year award and an original oil portrait of Indian Creek Bocephus.

Top Amateur Shooting Dog was Hainline’s Silver Star, pointer female owned by Jeff Hainline of Bellevue, Ill. Jeff was presented with his Amateur Shooting Dog of the Year award and a portrait of Hainline’s Silver Star.

Overall Handler of the Year award in each category is sponsored by Purina with a presentation of an embroidered jacket given to each winner in both the Open and Amateur category. This year’s Open Handler of the Year is Garry Malzone of Franklin Lakes, N. J. This year’s Amateur Handler of the Year is Kenny Snow of Muldrow, Okla.

NBHA would like to thank all the participants, owners and handlers for the support this past field trial season.

Next year’s meeting will be held in Memphis, Tenn., with the awards and banquet ceremony in the National Bird Dog Museum at Grand Junction, Tenn.

Plan your schedule to attend an NBHA Championship this season. These are shown in the appended box and listed by date.

Special thank you to special guests who attended this year’s meeting and banquet, Dean Reinke of Purina Pro Plan, and Tonya Brotherton, executive director of the  National Bird Dog Museum in Grand Junction, Tenn.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.