American Field

New Season Kicks off with Northern Prairie Trials

Purina Dog of the Year Award

Sep 18, 2019

The 55th season of the popular Purina All-Age Awards is “off and running” with the northern prairie trials and the naming of the winners in the Purina points stakes held in late August and early September in Saskatchewan, Manitoba, North and South Dakota.

The first Purina Award was presented in May, 1964 when War Storm, owned by B. McCall of Birmingham, Ala., and handled by John S. Gates, was honored.  B. McCall was president of Western Grain, the maker of Jim Dandy dog food. A bit of irony here when he received the Purina Award for War Storm from the president of rival dog food manufacturer Ralston Purina.

The list of Purina Award winners reads like a who’s who of the field trial sport, many being elected to the Field Trial Hall of Fame.

Dog Owner(s) Handler Points

Touch’s Blue Moon, Pointer male, Frank Foley, Cody McLean 560

Mercer Mill Grand, Pointer male, Remy Trafelet, Billy Wayne Morton 340

Lester’s Private Charter, Pointer male, Bruce & Karen Norton &

Dr. Reuben Richardson, Mark McLean 300

Lowrider Frank, Pointer male, Dr. Jim Mills & Steve Lightle, Allen Vincent 270

Erin’s Lone Star Law, Pointer male, Sean Derrig, Sean Derrig 240

Touch’s Malcolm Story, Pointer male, Alex Rickert, Mark McLean 240

Valiant, Pointer male, Jay McKenzie, Randy Anderson 220

Touch’s Red Rider, Pointer male, S. Tucker Johnson, Luke Eisenhart 210

Shadow’s Next Exit, Pointer male, N. G. (Butch) Houston, Tony Reynolds 200

Wild Hawk, Pointer male, Mike Moses, Judd Carlton 170

Westfall’s True Grit, Pointer male, Ryan Westfall, Andy Daugherty 145

Touch’s White Knight, Pointer male, Eddie Sholar, Mark McLean 135

Dominator’s Rebel Patch, Pointer male, Nick Berrong, Jamie Daniels 120

Erin’s Longmire, Pointer male, Brad H. Calkins, Tony Reynolds 110

Dominator’s Rebel Heir, Pointer male, James Hamilton, Jamie Daniels 105

Touch’s Spaceman, Pointer male, Matt Griffith, Randy Anderson 100

Ace’s R Wild, Pointer male, Tony Gibson &  Dr. Reuben Richardson,

Mark McLean 81

Whippoorwill Mayhem, Pointer male, Ric Peterson, Larry Huffman 72

Touch’s Blackout, Pointer male, Ric Peterson, Randy Anderson 60


[Purina Points are awarded based on the number of dogs entered x 10 for first, 5 for second, and 3 for third.]



Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.