American Field

Purina Handler of the Year Award

Sep 18, 2019

Twelve handlers earned points toward the Purina All-Age Handler of the Year Award with wins at the prairie trials in North and South Dakota and in Saskatchewan and Manitoba.

The 2019-2020 season is the 31st time this Award has been offered, initiated for the 1988-1989 season, 31 years ago.

Membership of the original Awards Committee was comprised of active field trial participants, notably:  Dr. Thomas M. Flanagan, Dr. Frank B. Hines, Tom Honecker,  John D. Seawright, Keith Severin,  and Joe G. Walker.

Primary goal of the Handler Award was to recognize a handler’s accomplishments in a  given  field trial season, and also to promote the highest level of sportsmanship in the field trial pastime.

Appended are the handlers who have earned points in the season’s initial points-awarding stakes.


McLean, Mark 405

McLean, Cody 307

Anderson, Randy 210

Morton, Billy Wayne 170

Reynolds, Tony 166

Daniels, Jamie 135

Vincent, Allen 135

Derrig, Sean 120

Eisenhart, Luke 105

Carlton, Judd 102

Daugherty, Andy 87

Huffman, Larry 48

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.