American Field

Purina Handler of the Year Award

Feb 24, 2021

Essential to the field trial sport is the professional handler, those individuals whose focus is bird dogs and the competition, be it all-age, shooting dog, or the popular waking stakes trials.

More than thirty years ago the Handler of  the Year Awards were initiated to recognize not only the accomplishments of the professional handler in a given field season but also to award sportsmanship, the bedrock of the field pastime.

Purina is the generous sponsor of these Awards. Currently, 29 handlers have earned points toward the 2020-2021 All-Age Handler Award.


Gary Lester 1220

Steve Hurdle 1081

Luke Eisenhart 1012

Andy Daugherty 871

Allen Vincent 847

Mark McLean 793

Larry Huffman 702

Randy Anderson 595

Jamie Daniels 287

Ike Todd 280

Lefty Henry 265

Larron Copeland 255

Tommy Davis 244

Frank LaNasa 175

Joel Norman 162

Alex Mauck 160

Scott Jordan 159

Sean Derig 153

Weldon Bennett 135

Jim Hughes 135

Judd Carlton 129

Matt Cochran 105

Tracy Swearingen 86

Jim Ledington 80

Eddy Taylor 74

Dr. Marion Brown 48

Bubba Spencer 48

Brian Gingrich 40

Tom Griffin 24

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.